Furlough

Today is my first day of the government mandated furlough for Department of Defense workers.  This furlough is to punish the policy makers in Washington D.C. for not reasonably cutting the Defense budget.  So because our Congress and Senate can not play nice, the American working class gets punished.

For those who do not understand what this is, over 800,000 Department of Defense workers are forced to take 1 day a week of leave without pay for 11 weeks.  This is a 20% pay reduction… because our elected leaders could not find another way to cut Defense spending.  This will be devastating to some, but luckily for me I have some savings that should bring me through the 11 week period.  Unfortunately I have some employees that can not say the same.  One person who works for me is top notch & dependable and is also a mother of 4 small children, I fear that she will find other employment.  I wouldnt try to stop her though, because she is doing what her family needs her to do.

I wonder why it’s come down to this?  Our leaders couldn’t find any other way to cut spending?  By just scanning the internet I learned that the United States has pumped $90 billion into the Afghanistan infrastructure and will commit to spending another $100 million annually for 10 years to train the Afghan people to maintain this infrastructure.  This is for a country that just wants the United States to leave.  As a whole, I don’t believe the Afghanis care about having a sophisticated infrastructure.  Im sure we could having saved a bit there.  I also saw that the US was giving Egypt 1.5 Billion annually to support the democratic government that was established.  After several months, the democratic government failed and has been taken over by the Egyptian Military.  I bet we could have save a bit there too.

I guess its better to punish the people who support these questionable decisions that to punish decision makers.  NOT 1 member of Congress or the Senate included in the furlough.  That is a damn shame. They have opted to degrade the health care of the American service members who have been deployed in back to back conflicts in Iraq & Afghanistan since 2003 and their families.  But, I guess there is no other way to save money.

I am concerned about our future!

Leave a Reply

